Prevent Aldi building on the former Dairy Crest site in Epsom

Contact the author of the petition

This discussion topic has been automatically created of petition Prevent Aldi building on the former Dairy Crest site in Epsom.

2016-01-09 13:43

I am not against Aldi as a business but this is not a suitable site to put a supermarket. The 5 ways junction is already very busy and difficult to cross, particularly with so many children crossing every day to reach the near-by schools and nurseries.
Traffic is already queuing for the doctors & surgery next door. Many patients are young or elderly or infirm and do not want to be queuing in the Aldi traffic.
It is a residential area and should remain so. There are other suitable sites around the area for Aldi.

2016-01-10 09:54

I am a local resident and I'm well aware of the existing congestion around this dangerous junction. To add such a large retail site would exacerbate existing problems and gridlock the surrounding area.

2016-01-10 11:33

This is in no way an appropriate position for a super market. It is a residential area of great history in Epsom.

2016-01-14 19:19

It is a ludicrous deveopment firstly we do not need another supermarket in Epsom, secondly to site it in a residential area defies logic. The owners or managers of Aldi or the Epsom Borough Council would not want delivery vehicles trying to drive through small roads with parked cars if they lived here so why ignore or even help to destroy people's living environment purely to grab some commercial money. The bait of some badly thought through living accommodation is also hardly what Epsom would aspire for their residents. Nobody believes this is real progress and the borough should be protecting the residents from this unwanted invasion..

2016-01-14 19:29

I want to save the shop in Church Road.
I do not want anything to make the traffic even worse along Church Road and Grove Road.